Recently, Utah law has changed for drug possession, which changes how bail works for drug possession. Lawmakers have been working to reform these harsh sentences for first and second time offenders. In the past, only a gram of a controlled substance would warrant a prison sentence for up to 5 years. Lawmakers decided that sending so many people to jail wasn’t helping Utah stay off drugs. Now, first and second time offenders are classified as a misdemeanor and no longer classified as a felony. Even with this new legislation, anyone who has been charged with drug possession in the state of Utah, can rest at ease knowing Bad Boys Bail Bonds is only a phone call away 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
Drug Possession Charges In Utah
Having a Schedule I or II drug in your possession is still very illegal. Examples of Schedule I and II drugs include:
If this is your first or second time getting caught with a Schedule I or II drug, then the crime will be classified as a class A misdemeanor, much less serious than a felony, with up to a year in jail and $2,500 in fines. If you are found with less than an ounce of marijuana, or the substance is not on Schedule I or II, it is classified as a class B misdemeanor which lessens the punishment for up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines. If you have been charged with drug possession more than twice or you have existing felony charges, you will be charged with a 3rd degree felony, resulting in up to 5 years in jail and $5,000 in fines. Basically, the more of a controlled substance you have the more likely it is that you will be charged with a felony.
How This Affects Bail for Drug Possession
Simply stated, possessing a controlled substance is a fast track to getting charged with a felony. The new laws in Utah however, are easing up on first and second time offenders. Legislators saw that people who didn’t have a history of drug crimes were being punished harshly. Utah would rather help individuals get the treatment they need instead of charging with felony on the first or second offense. By making the penalty less harsh, bail will be set lower, fines will be lower, and any time spent in jail will be much less. This kind of legislation will also help residents of Utah to start on the road of recovery for addiction, rather than punishing offenders for a disease.
Contact Bad Boys When You Need Bail Bonds in Utah
At Bad Boys Bail Bonds, we strive to educate and inform clients of changes in the law that could affect them. We are available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year for all of your bail bond needs. If you find yourself in one of the situations above, know that Bad Boys Bail Bonds has your back and we will work hard to get you back to your family and your life. At the time the bail is posted you can contact us to move forward with the best option for your situation.
To get started on the process you need to provide us with a few pieces of information:
- The name of the person in custody.
- The location of the facility they are being held at.
- The individual’s booking number.
- The bail amount.
If you find yourself in need of a bondsman, contact us here, or call 801-895-4014. We are a professional, compassionate company that understands what you might be going through during this stressful time.